the best 4 years ever… by Jessica

four years ago today, my sweet, funny, handsome friend Jon became my sweet, funny, handsome boyfriend.  life has been more wonderful and more precious since that day.

today i am stopping to reflect on what a blessing Jon has been to me.  i am thankful for the six months we spent getting to know each other as friends before we started dating.  i am thankful that jon took his time to make sure that pursuing me was the right step for both of us.  wednesday, may 16, 2007 was probably one of the longest days of my life.  i think he had asked me to “meet up and talk” the monday before that so i had two long days to wait for our “meet up”, which we had schedule for like 9:15 on wednesday after choir practice.  and of course Chris Gaynor had choir practice go long that night.  from that moment on we were nearly inseparable.

in that moment i think it was pretty easy for Jon to love me.  i looked cute, because i had put extra thought into my outfit and spent extra time on my hair and make up.  i was funny, because i had rehearsed what i would or would not say.  i was basically the best version of myself that i could possibly be.  when i realize that, i am extra amazed that he still loves me.  i am not always cute.  sometimes i have morning breath.  sometimes i burn dinner.  sometimes i am too lazy to make dinner.  i have thrown up, peed and pooped in front of him (that is what pregnancy and kidney stones will do to you!).  my body is completely different.  sometimes i yell at him for no reason.  one time i threw my shoes at him.  and yet somehow, he still loves me!  i am so thankful for him.  he is a tangible example of God’s love for me.  he is an awesome boyfriend, husband and father, and i am so happy that he asked me to go out to Starbucks with him four years ago.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jess
    May 16, 2011 @ 14:57:45

    so sweet!

    Reply

  2. jon
    May 17, 2011 @ 08:45:52

    I have loved every minute of it. Even the shoe throwing!

    Thank you for being a wonderful wife. Even when you think you aren’t, you are.

    Reply

Leave a comment